303-573-5253
Trial tested, results oriented

Make sure you understand Colorado’s marijuana laws

Even though laws pertaining to the possession and use of marijuana in Denver and throughout Colorado have become more relaxed, you can still wind up in a lot of trouble if you don’t pay attention to what is legal and what is not.  You may find yourself in need of a marijuana defense lawyer if you don’t follow these laws.

Possession of more than one ounce of marijuana for personal use is a criminal offense.  If you possess more than one ounce, but less than two ounces, you face a fine of up to $100.  If you openly display or use two ounces or less, you can be fined up to $100 and serve up to 15 days in jail.  Possession between two and six ounces is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 12 months in jail.  Six to 12 ounces will result in a fine of up to $5,000 and up to 18 months in jail.

Possessing more than one pound becomes a felony with up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000, or both.  When between five and 100 pounds of marijuana are involved, penalties go up to six years in prison and as much as a $100,000 fine.  More than 100 pounds can result in up to 12 years in prison and a fine of up to $750,000.

You are allowed to possess marijuana in Colorado, but you are not allowed to sell, deliver or distribute it, except for medicinal purposes.  Just as it is with possession penalties, the amount of jail time and fines will vary with the amount of marijuana that is involved.  Penalties are further enhanced if marijuana is sold or distributed to a person under 18 years of age.  In addition, the courts will add on mandatory minimum prison sentences for subsequent convictions.

You are allowed to grow up to six marijuana plants for private and personal use.  Anything over that amount is considered a felony with penalties ranging up to six years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000.
Newell & Decker serves clients in Denver and nearby Colorado communities.

Comments are closed.